Quinoa Black Bean Stuffed Peppers

Yesterday afternoon was absolutely glorious!  The weather was warm, but not that KY summer humid yet, the sun was shining, we got to play outside all evening…I feel like I should be singing some Broadway song with jazz hands and a kick line 🙂

I know that we are in our “terrible twos” now but I am loving this age right now!  His personality is so funny and sweet and I just love watching his brain work as he tries to figure things out and come up with the right words for everything as he plays and discovers new things.

Since we watched Papa (my dad) use the bush-hog on the back of the tractor last week, Rylnn has to “put his bush-hog on” at least once or twice a day now.  These may look like clamps and hinges to you, but I assure you, they are in fact a bush-hog.

Rylnn Bush-hog

He also decided that he needed to fish (again, like his Papa) and then air up his tires.  I love his concentration face 🙂

Rylnn Concentration

Rylnn Fishing

Rylnn Tires

For supper we tried some of the stuffed peppers that I had mentioned yesterday and I thought they were great.  I decided to stuff ours with quinoa, black beans, and some broccoli slaw that I sauteed for about 10 minutes over medium heat with some coconut oil, and then topped them with cheese.  I used sliced Muenster Jalapeno cheese for one and then shredded Parmesan and cheddar for the other two.

Stuffed Peppers Stuffed Peppers1 Stuffed Peppers2 Stuffed Peppers3

I really liked them, but if I make them again, I will definitely add some garlic and some onion (for some reason my mind simply went blank yesterday and I forgot to add any seasoning except for some salt!) and I would add just about a tablespoon of cheese between the layers, because who doesn’t like more cheese?!

Quinoa Black Bean Stuffed Peppers

3-Bell Peppers

2-Cups Quinoa

1/2 –Bag Broccoli Slaw

1-Tbsp Coconut Oil

2-Cups Cheese, divided (whatever flavor you prefer, and it doesn’t have to be shredded)

1-Cup Black Beans

1-Tbsp minced garlic

½-Small onion chopped

Pre-heat oven to 350.

Sautee the broccoli slaw over medium heat with garlic and onion. 

Cut the tops out of the bell peppers and place in foil covered baking dish.  Stuff each pepper with quinoa, broccoli slaw mixture, and black beans, adding about a tablespoon of cheese between each layer.  Top each pepper with remaining cheese and bake at 350 for about 15 minutes or until cheese is melted. 

I believe I could also add some salsa, sour cream or my Grandmamma’s hot pepper relish to have on the side with these peppers 🙂

Then we swiped some chocolate cake from Gamma (my mom) and I don’t know if I just wanted chocolate cake that bad or if my mom is just that good of a baker (it’s the second one, I promise!) but I swear it tasted better than any chocolate cake I’ve ever had 🙂

Chocolate Cake

Last night’s workout came from Danica’s Blog and it was a killer.  I only did the circuits through 2 times and I was done!  My arms are screaming at me this morning after the last two nights of workouts, so NO ARMS this evening!

Workout

Hope everyone has a great Thursday and remember, tomorrow’s Friday!!

About sugarcoatedsheridan

My name is Beth Sheridan and I am a 30-year-old aspiring health and fitness freak, trying to navigate through a full-time job, a husband, and a 2-year-old boy...a born-again Christian with the firm belief that donuts could in fact be the devil. Enjoy! View all posts by sugarcoatedsheridan

8 responses to “Quinoa Black Bean Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

