Foodie Penpals

Foodie Penpals

So about a month ago, I ran across a blog that I found very interesting and informative called The Lean Green Bean and let me tell you, this girl has got it goin on!   She’s working on becoming a Registered Dietitian and her blog is full of all kinds of foods and recipes and workouts and lots of fun stuff, and she also started a fabulous program called Foodie Pen Pals.  Basically if you sign up, she will pair you up with someone else and after communicating with that person about dietary needs and preferences, you are to create a box of fun foods (local, homemade, etc.) to send to that person.  The cost of the food can not exceed $15 and you are supposed to also include something handwritten like a note or recipe or something fun like that.  If you want to become a Foodie Penpal, you have to join by the 5th of the month and you can just do it the one time or you can do it every month if you like and then mail the box by the 15th of the month.  If you blog, you are supposed to blog about your box on the last day of the month, so here we are!

My box came from NYC!!  I was so excited when I found out that while I was visiting NYC, my Foodie Penpal Kellie had just created and sent me a box from that fantastic place, and she did a great job.  Let me preface this by saying, from where I live the closest Trader Joe’s is about a 2 1/2 hour drive so when I ripped into my box from Kellie, it was a Trader Joe’s goodie box!

Trader Joe's

Well the first thing I tore into was the Dark Chocolate Covered Marshmallows of course and I was NOT disappointed!  I was also very excited that she included a Clif Kid Z Bar in the chocolate brownie flavor for my Ryman who wanted it immediately and loved it as well.  I am a huge fan of Banana Chips which were good and I saved the fruit sheets for my Rylnn as well although he hasn’t tried those yet.  I haven’t been brave enough to try the Seaweed Snacks yet (I promise I will!) and she included the Red Split Lentils with a recipe for Red Split Lentil soup which sounds wonderful!  I was so excited with my box 🙂

The Foodie Penpal that sends you a box is not the same person that you send a box to, so I prepared my box and sent it to Megan in Massachusetts and filled it with some of our favorite snacks and a jar of Coconut Oil since I seem to be a little bit obsessed with that lately.  When she emailed me thanking me for the box, she said she was so excited to try out the Coconut Oil and had been looking online about all the uses (other than cooking).

Foodie Penpals2

I will definitely be signing up to be a Foodie Penpal again and encourage you to try it out 🙂

About sugarcoatedsheridan

My name is Beth Sheridan and I am a 30-year-old aspiring health and fitness freak, trying to navigate through a full-time job, a husband, and a 2-year-old boy...a born-again Christian with the firm belief that donuts could in fact be the devil. Enjoy! View all posts by sugarcoatedsheridan

6 responses to “Foodie Penpals

Leave a Reply

