Florida Day 5-Heath Bits PB Cookies

Today started out a bit windy and cloudy, but we were still able to spend a little bit of time outside this morning.

photo (95)

And Rylnn continues to love on his baby cousin…

photo (96)

When everyone was napping this afternoon, my sweet tooth got the best of me and I found a recipe on Pinterest for Heath Bits Peanut Butter cookies via Tortillas and Honey blog.

I had half of the Heath bits the recipe calls for, but they still turned out amazing!

photo (94)

photo (93)

Heath Bits Peanut Butter Cookies 
From Hershey’s

1/2 c. shortening(regular or butter-flavored both work)
3/4 c. peanut butter 
1 1/4 c. packed light brown sugar 
3 Tbs. milk 
1 Tbs. vanilla extract 
1 egg 
1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour  (I used bread flour and it worked fine).
3/4 tsp. baking soda 
3/4 tsp. salt 
8 oz. toffee bits, divided ( I only had 4 oz and used them all in the dough)

Heat oven to 375°F. 

Beat shortening, peanut butter, brown sugar, milk and vanilla in large bowl until well blended. Add egg; beat just until blended. Combine flour, baking soda and salt; gradually beat into peanut butter mixture. Stir in 1 cup bits; reserve remainder for topping (no topping for me).

Drop by heaping teaspoons about 2 inches (mine was 1 Tablespoon which was perfect) apart onto ungreased cookie sheet; top each with reserved bits.

Bake 7 to 8 minutes or until set. Do not overbake. Cool for 2 minutes, then remove to wire rack and let cool completely.

Philip and I got our last run in this evening, and true to form, he pushed me!!  We finished the week with a total of 10 miles and I’m super proud that I was able to keep up my cardio so well while on vacation 🙂

Tomorrow we’re really hoping to get outside and take some cousin pictures before we have to pack and be ready to fly back home Saturday.  I can’t believe we only have one full day left…Time truly does fly when you’re having fun 🙂

 

About sugarcoatedsheridan

My name is Beth Sheridan and I am a 30-year-old aspiring health and fitness freak, trying to navigate through a full-time job, a husband, and a 2-year-old boy...a born-again Christian with the firm belief that donuts could in fact be the devil. Enjoy! View all posts by sugarcoatedsheridan

6 responses to “Florida Day 5-Heath Bits PB Cookies

Leave a Reply

