Haircuts and Homemade Taco Seasoning

Let’s pick up with lunch this afternoon…I found a fabulous Cran-Walnut bagel and a few handfuls of almonds which made a spectacular lunch and then snacked on a few clementines to hold me over until supper.

Bagel

Grabbed up Ryman after work and we headed home for a little playtime and a little supper.  He always has to “help” me cook and while it can be stressful sometimes, I wouldn’t have it any other way because I know someday, I am going to miss those messy little fingers in my food and cleaning up after all his craziness.

Ryman3

Tonight was taco salad night, which is one of my personal favorites, and it was wonderful.  My secret ingredient is my Grandmamma’s hot pepper relish which is the most fantastic stuff I have ever put in my mouth and I will try to top basically any dish with it.  I also make my own taco seasoning because I think it tastes way better than store bought, it’s super easy, and I know exactly what ingredients I’m eating.

Taco Salad

Homemade Taco Seasoning

1 tbsp chili powder

2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp sugar

½ tsp salt

If you’re using a very lean meat, add just a few tbsp of water.

 Honestly, I don’t measure anything exactly so it’s really a no fail type of recipe (my favorite!).  I usually make up several servings when I make it and put them in little snack bags so I can just pull them out when I need them.

After supper, Rylnn and I headed back into town to get him a haircut, which was the most extraordinary experience of my day!  He sat in the chair all by himself, and if you don’t have kids you may not understand this, but this was a HUGE deal.  He was spectacular and was rewarded with not one, but two suckers from Miss Shanna and was told that he was her best customer all day.  Then we stopped by Subway on the way home and split a chocolate chip cookie.  I love this kid!

Ryman Haircut

Finally got Ryman home, bathed, and in the bed and I snuck in a hard quick 25 minutes on the elliptical and now I’m off to finish laundry for the big trip Saturday.   Tomorrow I also have a haircut, which I am super excited about.  My hair is longer right now than it’s ever been and I’m just tired of dealing with it, so I’m ready for a new “do.”  Here are two before pics:

Hair

Hair1

After pics to come tomorrow…Have a great night!

About sugarcoatedsheridan

My name is Beth Sheridan and I am a 30-year-old aspiring health and fitness freak, trying to navigate through a full-time job, a husband, and a 2-year-old boy...a born-again Christian with the firm belief that donuts could in fact be the devil. Enjoy! View all posts by sugarcoatedsheridan

4 responses to “Haircuts and Homemade Taco Seasoning

Leave a Reply

