Homemade Alfredo and Autism Awareness

Well hunger seemed to be the name of the game for me today!  I was able to get in a 3 mile run this afternoon and then spent the rest of the day snacking on Clementine cuties and the leftover shrimp that I was peeling for our supper, with Rylnn’s help of course.  This girl could not get enough food today!

Run1

For our supper tonight, I made Shrimp Linguine Alfredo, with homemade alfredo sauce, because it’s SO much better than any store bought that I’ve had and I loved it!  So yummy and filling for this girl that can’t get enough to eat today…Also split two chocolate chips cookies with my Rylnn so hopefully I’m done eating for today!

Shrimp

Homemade Alfredo Sauce

1 stick butter

1 8oz pkg cream cheese

2 tsp garlic powder

2 cups milk (used skim)

6 oz grated Parmesan

Pepper

 Simply melt the butter in a saucepan and add the cream cheese and garlic powder.  Slowly stir in the milk and stir constantly to avoid lumps and then add the Parmesan and pepper.  It will thicken up to the consistency of store bought alfredo sauce, so if you want it a little thinner, simply add a little more milk.

Autism

Today is also World Autism Awareness Day and as a mother of a 2-year-old boy (nearly five times more likely than a girl to have autism) and the sister to a former elementary classroom teacher that saw autism on a daily basis, I am well aware of the seriousness of this disease.  Click here for some more facts and information about this disease that now affects 1 in 88 children and 1 in 54 boys and seems to have its roots in very early brain development.  The most obvious signs of autism and symptoms tend to appear between 2 and 3 years of age and the quicker the diagnosis, as with most diseases, the better the chances are of effectively dealing with this disease.

Family

Off to make packing lists (I know I’m a dork) so I don’t forget anything when we leave for Florida in T minus 5 days!!  Any packing suggestions for a plane and a 2-year-old, I am ALL EARS!

About sugarcoatedsheridan

My name is Beth Sheridan and I am a 30-year-old aspiring health and fitness freak, trying to navigate through a full-time job, a husband, and a 2-year-old boy...a born-again Christian with the firm belief that donuts could in fact be the devil. Enjoy! View all posts by sugarcoatedsheridan

4 responses to “Homemade Alfredo and Autism Awareness

  • Renee @ Fit For Motherhood

    Your alfredo sauce looks so easy and delicious. I will make some this weekend. Thanks!
    I love that you are speaking about autism. Being a former teacher I think we need to be more aware of it.
    I always make packing lists. Otherwise, I go crazy trying to remember everything. 🙂

    • sugarcoatedsheridan

      Thank you, I love it, but just a word of warning, it does make a large batch! It will keep in the refrigerator for awhile, though I’ve never tried freezing it. And I agree, we do need to be more aware of Autism and it’s affects 🙂

  • Nicole @ Fruit N Fitness

    This alfredo sauce sounds wonderful! I think it’s funny that autism is so prevalent yet doesn’t seem to get much attention from the media or social sites. .

    • sugarcoatedsheridan

      I know, it’s almost as if people don’t really believe it’s a disease unless they have experienced it first hand…Hopefully with Autism Awareness Day and other events it will help to get more information out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

